DOD Announces Winners of the 2015 Commander in Chief’s Annual Award for Installation Excellence

  • Published
  • Air Force District of Washington
Secretary of Defense Ash Carter announced today the 2015 recipients of the Commander in Chief's Annual Award for Installation Excellence:

U.S. Army Garrison Fort Stewart and Hunter Army Airfield, Georgia

Marine Corps Base Camp Lejeune, North Carolina

Naval Air Station Pensacola, Florida

Joint Base Andrews, Maryland

DLA Distribution Susquehanna, Pennsylvania

The Commander in Chief's Annual Award for Installation Excellence recognizes the outstanding and innovative efforts of the people who operate and maintain U.S. military installations. The five recipients of this highly competitive presidential award were selected for their exemplary support of Department of Defense missions.

Excellent installations enable better mission performance and enhance the quality of life for military men and women and their families. Each winning installation succeeded in providing excellent working, housing, and recreational conditions.

Each winning installation will receive a commemorative commander in chief's award trophy and flag and a congratulatory letter from the president.

Information about each winning installation's accomplishments can be found at